... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

CCC: Shield Bug on Ivy

More moody in large ("L").

I found this shield bug whilst looking for wasps on the ivy (this was taken on the same plant as most of my wasp shots...). I believe that this is Palomena prasina which is our native green shield bug. There is another species (Nezara viridula) which is non-native and spreading north through the UK from the south-east, but it has clear wing-tips rather than brown as seen on our native ones...

I think that I have pretty much all the data that I need for my project, except for the hand-wing length of the good old common feral pigeon... I've trawled through huge amounts of morphometric data but can't seem to find it anyway, so I'm giving serious thought to going out with some seed and a ruler, and tackling some pigeons. *Sigh* It is so tempting, but I'd have to fill in way too many forms to do that (another risk-assessment, and an Animal Welfare Registration form which would have to be cleared by an ethics committee).

Other shield bug shots are right from here.
Highlights:
Detail
Antennae in focus
Swirly
Peek-a-boo

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.