Grrrr...

I don't quite know what I do but every now and again, just as I've finished my blip something goes horribly wrong and it disappears into the ether. Today was one of those days.
You will know if you have been following my blips how much I love the old crofts that litter the Western Isles. Today we went for a walk on the coast at the NE tip of South Uist and came across this one, in a beautiful location overlooking a sheltered natural harbour.
The wood lining s still there inside but it is being used for farm animals now rather than humans. As you can see the traditional stones are currently doing their job but it won't be long before it becomes a terminal ruin unless someone gives it some TLC. Sadly the terminal ruin happens all to regularly as a croft house is often left to a number of family making decision making very difficult.
On the plus side increasingly many of these old crofts are being converted to holiday lets - if nothing else I hope this one gets that treatment although seeing how far it was from the nearest road, it would only attract a hardy breed of tourist.
As you can see the weather continues to be kind - it can't last much longer!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.