The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Jump - Back To Church Live!

The live music keeps on coming thick and fast!

We had ex-Terrorvision front man Tony Wright doing an acoustic gig a fortnight ago.

Just before that I went to see Jake Bugg in a thoroughly modern gig!

Tonight we were in the wonderful setting of the Norwegian Church Arts Centre in Cardiff Bay for an evening of acoustic music, courtesy of the British rock band Jump. I had first seen them live at the first Fish Convention I went to at Leamingtom Spa about four or five years ago. They were playing in the pub of the unofficial meet and greet on the Friday night before festivities commenced. I have waited a long time to see them again. It was worth the wait.

Jump are another one of those bands I love that just should be bigger. I thoroughly enjoy the intimate settings of a small gig, but I also wish their music was getting a wider audience. The front man, John Dexter Jones (pictured here) is a wonderful story telling lyricist. He is also a wonderful performer of the songs. He is an absolute joy to photograph live, as he is so expressive. There is so much going on, it's almost as if he is acting each song. It also helps he has a wonderful singing voice.

I only own two Jump albums, which is something I need to rectify soon, but they get played a lot! They are classed as Prog, but they are very folky, and have a wonderful blend of acoustic and electric sounds. Really worth checking out if you love good honest music. (Their bandcamp page is here if you want a look)

The set list consisted of a lot of stuff from their last album I have only heard on streaming it from the link above. There were also a smattering of songs I recognised, such as Betsheda, the absolutely stunning Freedom Train and Free At Last as a curtain caller for the evening.

A wonderful nights live music again. I have edited a few of the photos from the evening, more will be going up later. If you want to have a look, click the Flickr link below.

Jump - Live At The Norwegian Church Arts Centre - Flickr Album

The Setlist:

Such Sweet Sorrow
Princes Of Anger
Old Gods
Kingston Corner Blues
My Lady of The Fairground
Down Three Times
Bethesda
Sniper
St Marie

Pressed Man
Black Pilgrim
Queen Of The Morning
Lock Out
Eagle Has Landed
Your Madness
Angel Of Montgomery
Freedom Train
Free At Last

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.