Tsunami

The east coast of Australia has been on tsunami alert after the massive earthquake in Chile earlier today.

Like many other Queenslanders I ignored the warnings to stay away from the waterfront and went to see the spectacle. I have to say, there wasn't much to see except that the tide started going out and sort of came back in again. Probably something that nobody would notice unless they were looking.

It is amusing and slightly alarming that people head towards the danger rather than away. Not that there was much danger. I was smart enough not to go to the waterfront without listening to a detailed tsunami warning on the radio. The real danger was in the water with very strong and unexpected currents predicted. There wasn't any danger of the land becoming inundated.

Surprisingly most of the boaties had heeded the warning and stayed off the bay today. I was originally planning to take the boat out but changed my mind. It is a shame because it is a beautiful day out there. It would have been a great day on the bay.

Instead I have been a bit lazy. We are just about to head off to my mate Ross's place for a few bevvies. I am planning to do a bit of work in the garage later and maybe mow the lawn. We'll see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.