Fishing

Today is officially the last day of summer here. Not that I think it will be getting cold anytime soon. Mind you, this week has been a lot less humid for the first time in months. Mornings are still hot but much fresher.

I took my mate brad out for a spot of fishing on the bay this arvo. The fishing was actually quite good. I blotted my copy book when I outsmarted myself and ran us into 6 inches of water with the tide pushing us away from the deep stuff. There was nothing for it but to jump overboard and push. The water was very pleasant but I wa a bit worried about stepping on a stingray or worse a stonefish. No harm done I got is back to the deep water.

After that we went further out on the bay and caught quite a lot of sharks.

Tomorrow new laws come into place in Queensland. Essentially us fishermen are going to lose a lot of the bay to national park which means a fishing ban. A lot of fishermen, myself included are pretty pissed. The Environmental Protection Agency Consulted fishing groups over a number of years, then shafted us but taking our fishing spots away. Ah well, there is a state election in 2 weeks.

Took Dad out for shopping and brunch this morning. He wasn't at his best but we managed to get him his new slippers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.