Harvest

I was really anxious when I awoke today after a night of stressy dreams. I'm worried about my study beyond belief. 9 or 10 years of study over in the next 2 weeks or so and I feel pretty terrified, it's just going to be a pass or a fail this time. The work I have created is completely different compared to what I submitted last time. Different focus, different arguments, different style. It feels like a leap of faith.

I've only managed about 3 and a half hours today and my mum's suggestion I take a break was great.

I ventured into the greenhouse for the first time in a while and was amazed to see the Italian trombone squash are still thriving. One had gone a bit mouldy as it had fallen to the ground and been attacked by a slug but the rest were thriving. I picked two shown here as they were close to the floor and looked ready. I threw a large back slug out of the greenhouse as far away as I could manage. I know it will probably be back later.

I finally harvested all the rosehips on the rosebush that I have trained up the side of the house. The smell as I tried to chop the stems off and pull the dried leaves and petals off is amazing. I will freeze them later. I then decided to make an apple pie. A colleague gave me a surprise box of huge bramleys last week so I have stewed them with some cinnamon sugar and the kitchen smells most amazing! The phone has been ringing non-stop all day so I'm ignoring it for the sake of my relaxation! I suspect it is marketing calls. Now it's time for pizza and then 2 or 3 more hours of study!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.