Edgey

By Edgey

Self Indulgence

Yes, Its a self indulgent selfie. With little or no sleep last night I found myself letting the workmen in to a friends flat this morning and I was bored... as you can tell.
I spent last night wondering how people perceive other people. I tend to take people as I find them and not judge people on their past. Its how they are today that matters to me. We all have skeletons in our cupboards, we have all lived a lie at some point... I know I did when I was married brushing over the truths that it was going to work, living the lie sometimes for years that things will get better. They didn't.
A few years ago I found myself with no home, no family living with me and having to make an appointment to see my own daughter. Not knowing which friends to trust and which ones not to. Living the lie to everyone I met, putting on a smily face when inside I was broken in two. All this put upon me through no fault of my own. Well, thats not strictly true. It takes two to work on a marriage and I have always excepted that my ex wife wasn't happy which is 50% my fault, which drove her to have her affair. So I am 50% responsible .
However as the years have passed since those awful times I find that the best thing my ex wife ever did was to break up the marriage. Yes there have been many arguments and fall outs, but I find myself a lot happier within myself and with who I am. I am comfortable with my own company and don't feel the need to be around people all the time. I dont judge people so readily anymore either. I do take people on face value, as I wish to be taken the same. We all have history and times we wish we could go back and change but, we cant. We just have to get on with things and leave it where it belongs - in the past. As long as we learn from our mistakes we can all be better people.

Todays Track... Well woth a listen

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.