TynvdBrandhof

By TynvdB

Back @ Sea for This Moment

Changing the scene. We made an early start this morning, our friend Cor and me. He drove the van loaded with some surplus Things back to Holland. And so we found ourselves rushing over the highways to the West. After five and a half hours we were back at the seaside again.
Still some heavy unloading and reloading had to follow, before he could leave for his Amsterdam home. Mischa brought the the canary in his travel cage. Pete would be delivered safely home to Cor’s neighbour and sing his song in the morning. An extraordinary stay far from home being over now.

In spite of my fatigue I decided to take my bike and cycle to the beach. It had been very rough stormy days, Mischa told, while we were in Carlsheaven. The scenes I saw when mounting the dunes were unbelievable. Hundreds of gulls swarming, sailing and hovering against the strong Southwestern. Sometimes hardly moving from place. Fascinating for me from great height and also for some beach walkers, looking high up.Then down at the wild surf a silver and golden scenery,enriched by the uncountable kites of the surfers.

A long time I could do nothing else than feeling enchanted by this play of silver light, tumblers, gulls, kiters, craws. I could barely remember the early morning sphere when we left the Weser Hillside or the heavy showers, cold seawinds during our highway stops. You could not imagine that this was the sea I was swimming in only last Saturday. A completely different universe. The water being cold and my hands half frozen after taking photos in the cold winds.
Winter is coming. This old man is too tired now to continue writing. He needs to sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.