I love Birch trees!

Feeling a bit better today I went back to take some more shots of the beautiful Fly agarics I found the day before yesterday. It was wonderful to see them again, and so many but once again there were several knocked over and trodden on, kicked about and broken into pieces....it is so sad, these fungi are really beautiful, and so lovely to see in the fallen leaves beneath the Birch trees.
While I was walking around feeling cross at the wanton destruction I noticed this Birch Bolete (at least I think it is!) in the leaves.
The Birch Bolete Leccinum scabrum appear in late summer and autumn under Birch trees. Edible, it can be easily distinguished from some of the more poisonous species as it's spores are released from pores under the cap and not gills.
The cap is very variable in colour ranging from brown and grey to reddish and rarely pure white. It is common throughout Britain.
I am enjoying this 'fungi' season.......long may it continue!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.