October Word Challenge .......

Day 19: Creature.

Today Lehigh County was having their Open Gate Farm Tour sponsored by Penn State Extension in Lehigh County. This annual event has been conducted in Lehigh County for over 45 years.

There were 20 farms on the tour and are only open for 4 hours .......... it's virtually impossible to get to them all. I think we were able to visit only 4 of them. To see one of the farms we visited check out Richard's journal.

With today's challenge topic of creature I was thinking I would get a photo of a farm animal or the like. But when I spotted this Red-tailed Hawk in our evergreen tree my plans changed!

I took several pictures of him/her through the open front window and then decided to see if I could get closer without him flying away. I went out the front door and was pleasantly surprised to be able to get about 15 feet of him before he flew off. I was thrilled!

I am glad I went out there because as I got closer to the tree I could see a squirrel on a branch just around the tree from where the hawk was sitting. I am sure he was hoping to make the squirrel his lunch! I know they have to eat too, but I would have been very upset if he would have gotten one of my squirrels.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.