Sue Le Feuvre

By UrbanDonkey

View from the lounge window...

I thought I'd get today's blip done before I go off for this weekend ringing trip, so I jumped out of bed, grabbed the camera, opened the window and snapped then ran back to bed. This is Royal Avenue which is very much a service road for the businesses, and flats here. However last year I was on a bus that took a wrong turning and went straight through the roundabout instead of turning left up the Avenue. When passengers told the driver he used this as a kevin run to shoot back to the roundabout and get onto his correct route.

My address is Royal Garden because the flat is built in what was the garden of the Royal Hotel. The Royal Hotel used to be one of the first buildings people saw when they drove off the harbour. It was once posh; then as its reputation began to slide there were regular dances, better known as 'grab a granny' nights. Eventually it burnt down and it seemed to be years that it was left in a derelict state which was not a good image for Guernsey. Ten years ago these flats were built and some time later the actual burnt down hotel was developed as prestige offices for The Royal Bank of Scotland International and PWC and a local Co-op store and an urban cafe, together with more flats.

It is very close to the town centre and is perfect for me because I've chosen not to have a car.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.