Happiness......

..... is a day on the bike, hanging around with a crowd, away from all the grown ups.
Freedom.
And stress, worry and fretting all day for Mummy!
We went over to Miss K's this morning to see Miss M and Miss A. Their cousins were there along with Mrs M and a procession of other girls from the neighbourhood.
After a few cups of tea we went to the park and the children all had a fabulous time. Climbing like monkeys, swinging, bouncing, running, balancing, throwing balls at each other. Fantastic!
Home for lunch which they ate like gannets and then straight back outside again.
The children on the streets round Miss K's are used to being out and cycling and walking around the blocks and although I hated it I had very little choice but to let Miss E and Miss L out with them. First of all on their bikes in the cul-de-sac - so I could worry about them crashing into parked cars and getting run over.
Then round the block so I could worry about them crashing into parked cars, getting run over and getting snatched by maniacs.
We eventually got them in when it was getting dark.
When I was their age - in the village I live in now - we were out on our bikes from morning til night. Roaming for miles without anyone knowing where we were. Today my girls had a tiny taste of that freedom. They loved it, I hated it!!
They were both exhausted by the time we left. Miss L fell asleep in the car and Miss E - for the first time I can remember - asked to get into bed straightaway. She even cleaned her teeth without a fuss!
Both in bed asleep by 6.30pm. Marvellous!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.