Help For Heroes

There was no time to let in any magic today. I think my blip angel was probably due a day off anyway. She's been working very hard on my behalf lately. I caught Laura in the doorway of the Sun Hotel where she works, having a quick smoke and catching updates on her phone. Just as there was a classic mid nineteenth century feel to yesterday's blip, I think there is a universal early twenty-first century feel to this. Could it be that someone in the far future will see this image and immediately be able to date it to within a few years based on the elements you can see here: the phone and tattoo, the cigarette and the bling? Quite possibly.

There was good news today. I'm up and running with a new machine at the office. The company has kindly bought be a Macbook - not that it had much choice in the matter! It's going to be mostly running Windows, out of necessity for work, but it does mean that I can dip my toe in Apple waters and boot the other side of my life into a more receptive vehicle for creativity. That's the hope anyway.

The inevitable bad news was all bound up with the process of actually installing Windows on it. It felt like it knew I was trying to get it to run in a foreign environment. I've been running Windows 8.1 for a while, and there are a few good things about it, but having to install Window 8 first, before running all the updates, I was reminded of what a total disaster that first incarnation was in terms of an interface. What were they thinking? It could go down in history as the worst ever example of something designed by committee, or indeed a number of committees, none of which talked to each other. Unbelievable.

And thank you once again. You are the most amazingly generous bunch of people.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.