PINK INSPIRATION - PINKTOBER 31

So the last day of the BCAM pink challenge has dawned and I think it is fair to say that I am "pinked" out!

It has been fun finding something different for Pinktober, and even in the face of difficulties, I have managed to find something every day.

We have lots of flowers still blooming in our garden, but many of them aren't pink, so imagine my delight when I saw this beautiful carnation. When I asked Mr. HCB to pick it for me, so that I could use it as my last blip, his words were "My dad would be thrilled to see this!"

Mr. HCB’s father, Harry, was a man who loved his garden, and his pride and joy was a new carnation that he had cross-bred - yellow with a touch of pink - and just before he and Mr. HCB's mother went on holiday in September 1976, his carnation was on the point of blooming. Sadly, during that holiday, he died and never saw his creation, so Mr. HCB’s mother, Joan, put the carnation in his coffin.

So this final blip is a tribute to Harry, Mr.HCB's father, a wonderful man, a kind and loving husband, father and grandfather - no doubt if there are carnations in heaven, he will be tending them!

Please click on this LINK but don't feel you have to stop - you can carry on doing this - and many people will continue to be grateful.

Thank you for coming on this journey with me - I hope and pray we will eventually find a cure for this terrible disease - and until we do, I thank God for all those who have inspired me and I think especially today of Nessie and Ros.

We don’t know
how strong
we are
until
BEING STRONG
is the
only choice
we have.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.