Friends

Look at what they're wearing!! On the day before November!
We met Mrs C and the boys at Waddesdon this morning and - after my usual I hate Waddesdon and we're never coming here again meltdown in the car park and waiting for the stupid bus - what a fabulous day we had!
We had our picnic round the back of the house. The Autumn colours looked beautiful and the children had fun running around in the sun playing with sticks. I say it every time they see each other but I love seeing the Little Misses with Mr L and Mr R. They have known each other all their lives and are so easy in each other's company. And they always look so sweet together!
We went to the Summer House for the Halloween activities and the day went a bit downhill for Miss E. She was giddy with excitement at the thought of carving a pumpkin and skipped her way to the table laden with pumpkins.
To be told they'd sold out.
She was heartbroken.
You could see names written on them and I had half a mind to pretend that we were Pollyanna or Tarquin but that would have been unfair on that child.
So I did the next worst thing and let her - how shall I say it? - borrow/take/appropriate/steal a pumpkin from the huge stack of them piled up in a display outside the café.
In my defence it was Mrs C's idea I gave an extra large donation for the other Halloween crafty activities we did and Mrs C made me.
I then carried this bloody pumpkin which weighed a ton all round the woodland trail we did, all round the fabulous adventure playground where we spent hours, and all the way back up the hill.
To the café which still had heaps of pumpkins outside.
I went in and asked the man who was clearing up if I could take a pumpkin as my daughter had been so upset that they'd sold out before 1pm.
Yes, take whatever you want, they'll only be going in the skip was the reply!
Whoohoo!!!!!!
I felt less guilty about nicking one, got one for Miss L and had an excellent workout humping the first one about for miles!
We didn't leave until 5pm after hours of fun. I do love Waddesdon!!
Mrs C and the boys came back to our house for a spot of pumpkin carving before trick or treating. Which was incredibly difficult as it turned out the green pumpkins were in fact some sort of marrows. Which were made of lead and full of skin dissolving gunk!
But they were done eventually and looked fab!
Then it was out trick or treating dressed as cats, pirates and ghosts. With fantastic gifts from Auntie T which arrived unexpectedly today: luminous flashing bangles, battery powered flashing windmills and a lantern. Amazing! The Little Misses loved them. What a wonderful Fairy Godmother Miss T is!
The village was fantastic as usual for trick or treating. We get a map through the door showing the houses taking part and they all go to such a lot of trouble with the decorations and props. Just brilliant!
Home to pizza, sweet scoffing and a surprisingly easy bed time.
A fab day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.