Trick or Treat

This is the first photo I have ever taken using the flash.
Who knew?!!!!
The day got off to an early start with the Little Misses coming in giddy that it's finally Halloween. They've been so excited and finally it was here.
I don't really know where their excitement has come from but they think of it as the same as Christmas. 
They'd wrapped up presents for each other and made cards for me and Mr K. So sweet!
The rest of the morning was less sweet with arguments about swimming and homework.
Miss E has had two weeks to write a story so why, why, why are we shouting at each other about it today?!
Sigh!
I had a bath, cooked chilli, watched Nigella cooking lots of Christmas goodies and made a mental note to try and find the box with my cookbooks in.
Amongst all the boxes stacked in the hallway. Which I haven't got the will - or the furniture required - to unpack.
Every five minutes from about 2pm Miss L asked "how long till Halloween?" meaning how long until Mr L and Mr R get here and we can go trick or treating?!!
She had to endure a few hours of homework, pumpkin carving, Paw Patrol and dinner but finally it was time! Mrs C arrived with the boys and we headed out.
Twenty houses in the villages were taking part in the Trick or Treating this year. People go to such a lot of effort it's incredible. Some of the houses were like horror film sets - smoke, lighting effects, music, bones, blood, coffins...... Amazing!
I love walking and stumbling about in the pitch dark seeing shapes - which we assume are our children - disappear off into the shadows lit only by glow bands and flashing light sabres!
Their bags and pumpkin buckets were stuffed full of sweets by time we got to the last house.
We came home and they made a start on it all while Mrs C, Mr K and I drank tea. 
Then it was thorough teeth cleaning, stories and bed. They were asleep within minutes!
Mr K is currently asleep on the sofa next to me, I've watched Strictly and I'm about to start X-Factor. Rock and roll Saturday night!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.