Flying High

Continuing our tradition (which started last year!) of going to Waddesdon for Halloween we met Mrs C and the boys there this morning.
I woke up to rain, wind and general miserableness. So different to last year!!
But the rain stopped and it was still as beautiful as ever. I
I don't think I've been since January and I'd forgotten how much I like it.
First of all we headed round the Hoot Trail searching for owls and collecting stickers. Once their sheets were filled with the stickers they'd earnt their prizes - a packet of Haribo!!
We sat outside the cafe and ate our lunch. For once I'd actually been organised and taken some with me! 
Then it was mud, leaves, dens building, death sliding, tree climbing, log moving and general filthiness!!
They loved it!
We'd already checked with the pumpkin lady that they had enough for the day. Unlike last year when they'd run out by lunchtime. There were loads and the children each carved scary faces. With a little bit of help from their Mummies!
The end results were fab (see extras)
Once the pumpkins were carved they set off into the woods and undergrowth for some playing as wizards and casting spells with sticks.
Unfortunately it turned into a bit of feral gang warfare with another group of children. There were tears (not from our children) and cross Mummies (not me or Mrs C)
It was all a bit Lord of the Flies seeing them covered in mud and fighting with sticks.
In the end Mrs C had to go and have a stern word. Which resulted in lots of whining and indignation - it wasn't me, I didn't, it was him, it was her, we were defending our den, I felt like I had to join in.......
And us beating a retreat with our pumpkins.
A quick stop in the shop to get a postcard for Miss L to send to her class at school. 
Two weeks we've had to do their homework and I leave it until the last day we can post it. Sigh!
Just before we got on the bus back to the car park Miss L threw/dropped (depending who you believe) Miss E's pumpkin resulting in severe facial trauma and disfigurement. 
And tears.
Sigh.
But despite those few little hiccups we had another fabulous day.
Sausages for dinner and much needed baths before bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.