'The Flying Kangaroo'

This morning when we got up, there was quite a large mob just outside our back fence, no more than 10m from the house. Of course I had to go out and shoot them (camera only). This one reminded me of the Qantas logo.

Had a great day planned with the kids today, firstly we set off for 'The Chocalaterie' in the Yarra Valley for some very special ice cream for morning tea. We all ordered 2 scoops in a cup and I was the only one who was able to down the lot. Too much for the kids, I should have only ordered a single scoop each for them. After eating we had a play around on their property with the soccer balls they provide and then the plan was to head into the Zoo.

On the way back my car overheated and I pulled over, waited for the engine to cool down and we emptied all of our drink bottles into the radiator. We waited there for about half an hour before starting the car again to see if we could make it home (about 20mins drive from where we were). All was going well for about 10 minutes and we overheated again. This time I called Roadside assistance and arranged for a tow truck to pick up the car. They were supposed to get there within the hour which didn't happen and they took around 2 hours to turn up.

Meanwhile I called our good friend Meg who was our saviour. She turned up with a bottle of water and a fresh muffin for each of us and waited with us until the tow truck eventually turned up. What a superstar she is. She even offered us her car to take the kids to the zoo, but it was all a bit too much for Dylan who just wanted to go home. Bella was a bit disappointed that we couldn't go.

I had the car towed to the nearest service centre who rang me late in the day to say that the car had arrived and they were going to try to get someone to diagnose the problem and call me back with a quote. They must have run out of time as I haven't heard back from them yet and tomorrow is a public holiday for the Melbourne Cup, so nobody will be working. The earliest it will be ready will be Wednesday if it's something minor (fingers crossed) as we're supposed to be heading off for a long weekend camping on Friday.

I suspect that's it's only a thermostat or a split radiator hose, but I'll have to wait to find out.

Meg dropped us home around 2pm, some leftovers for lunch from last night's dinner. A kick of the footy out the back and watched Rio with the kids.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.