My Best Efforts - Year 3

By AMC

MonoMonday: Old andNew..........

...........and what an age difference between them!!
The older one is titled "Lingua Britannica Reformata" or "A New Universal Dictionary" and this copy was published in 1754 costing 6 Shillings at the time - quite a lot of money in those days - it also is a Gazetteer with, of course, no mention of Australia or New Zealand!!

The Calf Skin binding is very shabby now and the pages have that yellowy look that very old paper does take on - it is still very interesting to dip into.

The newer one is the Pears Cyclopaedia 97th Edition 1988-89 and given to me by Anni in 1988 - had lots of use and is, like the old one, a Gazetteer as well. (It does now include Australia and New Zealand!! - ha ha!)

A visit to the Cardiology Dept today - for an echocardiogram - that will be fun!!

A dull start to the day but brightening a little now - a LOT cooler - 44 Deg F.

Have a good day.

P.S. OH DEAR, HAVING LOADED UP MY IMAGE FOR MONOMONDAY:- "OLD AND NEW" AND WRITTEN THE NARRATIVE - I'VE JUST SEEN THAT ANNI HAS COME UP WITH A SIMILAR IDEA! I don't think I'll change it - I don't think she will mind and I've not a lot of time left this morning.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.