Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Crashing in

How about this? This little fella crashed into one of the windows on my side of the office a little before lunch time. I think it really hurt itself, so sat still for quite a while. Well-meaning folk tried to help it but falcons being falcons, it just moved away. You have to remember this IS the 21st floor and just about everyone who came (Security, Police etc.) did not bring any harness equipment with them. Fortunately the ledge is quite wide so it is possible to walk along it.

Anyway, it caused much excitement and disruption through the afternoon with calls made to various places to find out what could/should be done. In one of the quieter moments, I walked across to the window and there he was - sitting slightly away from the wall and stayed there till I fetched my camera and looked straight at me! :D

Shortly after this, an attempt was made to provide water for it. As the security guard approached with a bowl... it flew off! Back to its home I should think - which would be the Palace - not far at all from where the building is. There you go.

I reckoned this might be a Peregrine but a quick Wikipedia search tells me it is a Saker which is more indigenous to this part of the world. Whatever its breed, you can't deny it is beautiful.

The rest of the day passed happily enough. The evening got busy as I was given the task of organising cake and flowers for a very special anniversary which is being marked in the office. More tomorrow... And whilst walking to the flower shop - we perused the work of an Iranian artist who is creating a whole new type of art - painting on metal. It was incredible and he chatted with us, and told us the stories behind some of the work and explained the components of them; and then he gave us a small picture each!

Trying REALLY hard to keep up with you all... please be patient! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.