The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Down Nelson Street

There are two pubs in Nelson street: one's the Duke of York, currently known as the E of Yor because some of its letters are missing; and the Golden Fleece, which was my local and much loved pub for a number of years, when going to the pub seemed like a good idea.

I blipped The Golden Fleece back in April, and I am sorry to see that it still stands empty, despite the posh paintwork. My own local, the Crown and Sceptre, is having a fireworks display tonight but I wouldn't go there on my own. Too crowded! Clean Steve is at a meeting and my friend, who used to like going out to the pub with me, has a boyfriend now.

The nursery children had a bonfire today, but I wasn't with them till this afternoon. We took them swimming and supported one child each, so I think they all had a good chance of a splash, kick and play with the pool toys! We have projected lights and can have music as well, so it's pretty chilled, despite the above-average water temperature!

We have a new nursery manager and I met her properly today. She's bringing in some practical changes, which we're all enthusiastic about.

Later, I took the bus home and walked through the cemetery, took some sunset shots but preferred this one of Nelson street and the distant hills. I think the hill village in the distance is Randwick or Ruscombe, but don't quote me on that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.