Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

The Day After And The Results

I worked at the Democratic HQ yesterday from 4 am until 9 pm. I came home exhausted last night before knowing any election results, went directly to bed and woke up at 3 pm this afternoon.

I just went on the Secretary of State's website to see what happened and this is what I saw -

Unofficial results with all precincts reporting:

Congressional District 2
158,238 ballots cast
McSally (R): 78,799
Ron Barber (D): 78,763
Write-Ins: 774
Difference: 36 votes

(I want to strangle every single bastard Democrat who wrote in a stupid thing like 'Mickey Mouse' on their ballot.)

There will obviously be a recount and we may not know the finally result for weeks. This could go either way. You can bet there will be representatives from both Parties in the room as every vote is counted.

As far as the rest of the election...
My best friend, Andrea Dalessandro, was re-elected as LD2 State Senator by a whopping margin, and one of our incumbent LD2 Reps won re-election. However, the other incumbent lost to a Republican on the strength of the vote of the old, 'well-to-do' retired people in the town in which I live and whose politics I can't stand.

The rest of the Democrats in the State races got crushed. Governor, Secretary of State, Attorney General, Supt. of Public Instruction and Corporation Commission. Crushed.

That's how I feel today. My spirit is crushed. I grew up in a blue state (NY) and I lived in a blue state for 23 years (Maryland). I am not used to losing this badly.

I have now put myself through this in AZ in 2008, 2010, 2012 and again this year. I will do it again in 2016. I will not give up.

I plan on dying in Arizona and some day before I do I plan on seeing Democrats winning here as a regular way of life, representing the values I cherish and the life I hope for the young people here to lead.

Peace and hope to you all. Thanks for all of your support. xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.