Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

I've Bee-n Expecting You

But I can't find you.

There have been a few guests other than Zippy and his ilk at the feeder lately. They include some bees and at least this one (male) Gila woodpecker.  I don't recall bees coming out this time of year before but maybe that's just my memory failing me.  Hopefully, it will get cold enough at night now to kill off the live ones.

There was a Gila who came around frequently in the past.  I had named him Pope Francis because of his red cap.  Then someone poured water all over me and reminded me that the Pope wore white. Pshaw!  It remained the same.

I have barely seen a woodpecker in the yard for most of the summer and fall.  I suppose they were busy in the saguaro.  But now this fellow is a more frequent visitor.  Is he the original Pope Francis who wreaked havoc on my roof a couple of years ago to mark his territory?  I don't know.  I may never know. 

But I'd like to think so. He's as annoying as ever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.