Swans rising...

It was one of those amazing mornings that only happen a handful of times each year - a sharp frost and still conditions had allowed mist to develop in the river valley. The swirling mist, combined with the rising sun, produced an optical display to rival any of last night's fireworks. As you might have guessed, I took many , many images, but was lucky here to catch these swans lifting off from the water. I wish you'd been there...

It's a long time since I've walked along the river at dawn, and I'd forgotten how wonderful it can be. As well as the light display, I had really close encounters with two kingfishers, who didn't seem to be expecting anyone to be about. The first large flock of fieldfares flew over, followed soon after by a group of redwings,instantly recognisable from their ringing contact calls. Winter's definitely on the doorstep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.