Old and Young

The challenge for today is an image using a 50mm focal length. I have a prime 50 which I love and is just perfect for out and about shooting in the street - quiet, quick and the only zoom possible is using my feet. Any zoom lens would achieve the same result at 50mm but this one is light and not at all obtrusive. I spent an hour or so wandering the streets of Aylesbury, taking care not to come under the scrutiny of any security guards who can get a bit twitchy when they see a camera.

I am getting much better at getting what I want in the frame and I was lucky to spot this situation. I love the contrast in wheeled transport as well as the different purposes of the two men. The younger one is casually dressed, clearly on a mission to get somewhere and is laden with all the paraphernalia that goes with moving a baby around. The older gentleman is very well dressed and is carrying several bunches of flowers on his walker, perhaps for his wife and probably purchased from the market stalls. Amongst the averagely busy shopping centre, these two are oblivious to each other and to everyone else.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.