Sight Reading

One of my pastimes is singing in a choir - or actually two choirs now. I recently re-joined Tring Choral Society which I sang with when I first moved to this area. I am not giving up on my other choir but now have the time to do both. It was lovely to go back and see the many friends I made over those years. There is a concert coming up soon and, whilst I wouldn't presume to sing on so few rehearsals, the conductor thought it would be OK.

One of the works in the programme is this Haydn Mass which I haven't sung before, so the skill of sight reading is really helpful! My many years of studying music and singing in choirs has enabled me to build up this particular skill and Haydn is not a complicated composer - generally predictable and with regular rhythms; it is very pleasant music.

So two senses are involved here - sight and sound; more if you count all the emotional senses involved.

I'm off to Oxford later to help out one of my pro-photography friends with the finale of the Fashion Week. This will be in the wonderful surroundings of the Natural History Museum. It will be rather surreal to have these beautiful and stick-thin models parading among the dinosaur skeletons!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.