Today's Special

By Connections

Busted!

I think the outsider with the camera was noticed by this Texas trio! (Look to the left of the colorful metal flowers...)

I'd better maintain a low profile if I ever return to Georgetown, the county seat of Williamson County, Texas, population 47,400.

Given that one-third of the city's population live in Sun City Texas, a retirement-oriented and age-restricted development in Georgetown, I thought that I had blended in well.

We enjoyed our sunny afternoon in this pretty city, incorporated in 1848, which has many lovely old buildings and a classic courthouse on the square in its historical district, listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

Georgetown is known as the "Red Poppy Capital" of Texas for the numerous red poppy wildflowers that bloom each spring in many residents' front yards. The annual Red Poppy Festival, held in April, draws up to 30,000 visitors annually.

After our relaxing afternoon in Georgetown, we stopped on our return to my sister's home to purchase a few food items in the largest grocery store I've ever seen--truly Texas-sized! Our simple evening meal and compatible conversation went long into the evening, and now it's time for another good night's sleep in this quiet neighborhood.

Blip 1082

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.