Stop/Go

I spent 5 hours today being a marshal for the Source to the Sea cycle race. They ride 160km from Lake Rotoiti at the source of the Buller River to Carters Beach at the mouth. They're mad!

Anyway, the marshaling is a fundraiser that our school community takes part in each year. The further you are from the Lake, the longer your stint is. I was at Inangahua Bridge today - which is the longest day any of our volunteers put in. Each year I have a moan, but in truth each year I really enjoy it. I always said I wanted a career as a Stop/Go girl.

Last year was damp and cool. This year was HOT and I'm slightly toasted yet again! Yes, I did at least sunblock my face, neck and ears, and wear a hat - I just didn't think about my arms.

I spent the day taking panning shots - which isn't easy with a stop/go sign and a walkie-talkie in one hand and your heavy camera in the other! I did get some shots I like but it's too darned hard to decide which one to blip - the one with the face in perfect focus? or the one with the bike frame in perfect focus? or the one with a rider's butt in perfect focus?

In the end it was easier to opt for this one - the view I had for five hours.

It is worth noting that 5 hours is a long time without a break when there is nowhere private handy on the side of a state highway during a cycle race. I ended the day a little dehydrated because I couldn't risk drinking anything after about 3 hours. Which was a darned good excuse to carry on down the road to Berlins for a coffee and a cold drink before heading back home.

A fun day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.