Here there and everywhere

By digitaldaze

Taken for a Ride

It's becoming a bit of a habit for taxi drivers to take me the long way home from the school to the flat. It isn't the time or money that irks me, cos it's only a euro/12 mins difference, but what irks me is that feeling of being taken advantage of because of my being a foreigner, not speaking Arabic and probably because of being a female on my own. It makes me feel uncomfortable and vulnerable. As soon as I see they've gone off track I have to watch carefully, just in case they really don't know where they're going. When that happens the driver just keep driving until I repeat my destination and then they ask someone every 100 metres for directions. Once, when a driver realised he was off track he tried to let me out the taxi, saying we were there. Now my sense of directions isn't good, but even I know when I'm on the square where I live!

Anyway, other than that, a nice day. I met a recently-arrived teacher from the school for coffee in Zamelek and we went to a little place that I didn't know. I had to test the quality of their banana stuffed donuts and I might have to work my way through their donut range now. She ordered a chocolate waffle which would have been enough for a family of four! Good cappuccino too and a street view from the first floor window. The TEFL world is really quite small and it's almost always possible to find a connection with people. Today, we found out quickly that she did her CELTA in Poland and her tutor was a good friend of ours from our Budapest days (Mike C)! We hosted his 50th birthday celebrations in our flat there! Then into work for a couple of hours to finish something off for next week and then dinner at Kandahar, the Indian restaurant. Taxi ride home was ok!

Blip was from the taxi.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.