My day

By 59

Japanese gardens Cowra

You may wonder why there is a colourful rhino outside the Japanese Garden in Cowra. It is advertising the Taronga Western Plains Zoo in Dubbo about 300 kilometres north west. When you travel around the west there are many of these all decorated differently but all very bright.

The gardens were established due to a Famous World War Two incident when Japanese soldiers, held captive as POWs, made a bid to escape with loss of life on both sides. They were all captured or killed unfortunately. Cowra and Japan still hold remembrance ceremonies to mark the event. The gardens are extensive and beautiful in a harsh climate, just look at the dry grass outside the fence behind the rhinoceros.

I travelled to Cowra 115km from my home town for a catch up with one of my colleagues. I need to have an office day to catch up...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.