Still Hanging On

We were a tired household this morning. The Little Misses were exhausted after two late nights and I was exhausted after a night tossing and turning and the alarm going off after what felt like half an hour's sleep.
Miss E spent most of the journey to school wailing that she wanted to go back to bed. Funnily enough, I bet at 7pm she won't have the slightest desire to go to bed!!
I've spent the day tidying. Just for a change.
We had a property inspection last week and - with only a few days notice and after two week's half term - the house was in a complete chaotic tip.
It's the first inspection I'd never tidied up for.
We got a letter yesterday. You see, there's a good example, we got a letter on Saturday but didn't find it until yesterday when I noticed it on the floor of the living room with Miss L's drawings all over it.....
Anyway the letter raised some concerns about the state of the property.
"We all live in different ways however I do feel you need to clear up the entrance hallway as this is a hazard and I wasn't able to inspect the study as I couldn't enter the room"
We all live in different ways.
Ouch.
Why can't we be normal and have a normal house?
Channel 4 could make a documentary about this house most of the time and yet all I seem to do is try and sort it out. It's soul destroying.
Anyway, they're coming back in a month and the house and garden need to be much improved.
I'm trying to see it as motivation to get things sorted - which is what I want - and fight against the urge to sit here and wallow in self pity.
Just tidy up, put things away, hoover more than once a month, dust round every now and then. How hard can it be?
And don't do it for an inspection or because people are coming round.
Do it because it would make life so much easier and less stressful.
And more normal!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.