Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Veterans' Day in New York

The time difference meant we woke up really early, so at 6am I found myself on a treadmill (I usually run in the mornings). We are not staying at a hotel but at the New York Athletics Club which is directly opposite Central Park so Gavin can get out and run there. This club is amazing - 24 floors of which only 7 floors are for accommodation, the rest of the floors are used for an athletics track, a gym, a swimming pool and aquatics centre, wrestling, fencing, basketball court....It would have been silly not to use something of these incredible facilities.

Gavin set off for work early and I wandered down 5th Avenue to Bryant Park, the New York Library, Grand Central Station, Times Square....I noticed that 5th Avenue had been blocked off to traffic and there were so many police milling about. I discovered that due to Veteran's Day (11th November) there was to be an all day parade up 5th Avenue. I enjoyed watching the parade - though Gavin reported later he nearly missed a meeting due to the resultant traffic snarl up.

New York is very busy and is quite difficult to walk around as the traffic often blocks the pedestrian box - its very noisy with constant police sirens and the blowing of car hooters. But it is exciting and a very vibrant city.

This image is from the parade - I felt I had to blip something from this event although if you would like to share my visit to New York have a look here at some more images.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.