Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A room with a view

...of Central Park.

It was a treat to have a daytime flight to New York today. We had a delicious breakfast at the airport and then I enjoyed watching two movies - Fading Gigolo, the latest Woody Allen movie which was very appropriate as it is set in New York and Woody Allen is the most archetypal New Yorker that I can think of, and The 100 year old man who climbed out of the window, which was a delight - particularly as I have read the book.

We finally got into New York after a long wait for a taxi (such an inefficient terminal at JFK) at about 2.30pm. It was beautifully sunny and bright and rather warm for this time of year at 17C. Every time I have been to New York I have been cold, so I was surprised at how warm I was in my winter coat and wished I had packed something lighter. We dropped our bags off at the hotel and I walked with Gavin to his office at the Rockerfeller Centre where I saw them erecting that enormous Christmas tree, and watched the children skating on the open ice rink.

Even though it was sunny, those tall buildings create deep shadows that darken the city from very early on in the afternoon, and in this image of Central Park taken from our room window, you can see the shadows in the foreground caused by the buildings around the park. The autumn colours are beautiful though.

I wandered into a few shops but quite honestly when you live in London you don't need to shop in New York, as we have everything and more back home! And from what I saw I did not think the prices were that much cheaper.

Gavin is still at work and when he gets back we will go out for a drink and a bite to eat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.