Local Windmill, Maasland ... + a challenge!

This is The Three Lilies! I think she is a beauty.

You can't see it here, but the vanes were going around quite briskly with the wind at about 5 Beaufort but thankfully not chilly.

I took the time to detour to shoot this. Of course, I don't detour 'just' to blip, though ... I have always found it interesting to explore the country, including taking pictures of whatever I find worth remembering. Windmills are close to my heart, for some reason. Passing by Maasland was actually hubby's idea -- he's been all over the country (a souvenir from his driving days a long time ago) and his suggestions are always worth following up on.

With all the remembrance ceremonies going on and also with the 25th Jubilee of the Fall of the Berlin Wall, I have been thinking about freedom. I have decided to live and work even more fully as thanks for all those who have died to provide the kind of life and standard of living I now enjoy, even though they didn't know me or have any idea of my existence. I can't live for them or to please them (they're already dead) but I think that the gift of freedom and of life is too precious to waste. At the very least, I would do it for myself (nobody else will do that for me) but also as a celebration of life and freedom in general. To die that the rest may go on living and go on living to the fullest ... that is a noble thing.

Tomorrow, I will start with the B&W 5-day challenge Susanna invited me to -- exciting! I'm supposed to invite other people in turn, so if you can give me an indication that you're interested, I'll mention you in tomorrow's blog.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.