Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Happy lichens

Well, I reckon these are happy because they have lots of fruiting bodies (go larger to see them). They are on one of our apple trees and were basking in the late afternoon sun. The yellow one is xanthoria parietina, the only one I can reliably identify. It has yellow fruting bodies. The grey one is probaly one of the phsycias, possibly adscendens, but I'm not sure. It has the dark fruiting bodies that are surrounded by pale grey. I don't know the moss - can anyone confirm if it is one of the Polytrichales?

I did not go out walking today. I twisted Arth by accident last night, resulting in a painful clunk and a bit of swelling. Tomorrow I'm driving to Sheffield for a 2 day workshop with Doug Chinnery and Paul Kenny. This should stretch my photographic ideas somewhat! I don't want to find the driving painful.

So I have packed and worked at my desk and generally enjoyed a quiet day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.