Mrs Mop

I started my new 'job' this afternoon, as cleaning lady for my neighbour.

It felt weird for me, as all 5 houses on our street were built to a similar template, but Eileen's is the opposite way round to ours. It feels smaller too.
Her lounge is at the front of the house, whereas ours is at the back. I much prefer our layout as we can look at the garden from the living space, rather than from the bedroom.
Her conservatory is attached to the main bedroom, which again seems a waste to me; but she's been happy there for over 40 years so it is each to their own I guess.

She kept apologising for all the dust! I think she felt a little ashamed for the way it was, but it's not her fault.
It took me a while to dust; she has so many ornaments & I couldn't dust around them, that's not my style!

The hardest job was emptying the vac; it was so full the dust had compacted in the cylinder. It's no wonder it wasn't picking up much before.

We had a good natter while I cleaned, she told me about her friend Alan who has been a godsend to her, and also about her sisters; one of whom (her favourite sister she said) died in August.

The carer came to make lunch, and stayed the full 30 minutes this time (my beady eye may have played a part in this).

Once my jobs were done, it was time to go and clean my own house.

Eileen was happy that everything looked tidy and it's amazing how nice a bit of polish can make a room smell.

She tried to give me £10 as payment, but I refused and said I wouldn't clean anymore if she tried giving me money again!

Tonight I'm abandoning our usual Friday night takeaway at Laura's in favour of a meal out with the girls from work. Mr A will have to go without me :-(

Happy weekend blipmates :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.