Art Art Art

I've walked a lot today. In fact, so much so I had to buy some little trainers.  After being served  in Boots for some Compeed by an unlikely Elvis in a onesie, I headed to the Royal Academy to check out the Allen Jones exhibition; an excellent recommendation from 4D's other half.

I had to laugh though - his life-sized female sculptures on all fours and in clothing to 'accentuate their shape' (read raunch), holding glass tables on their backs, were given due consideration in that he has enabled them to look up (albeit with a mirror for one of them).  I did wonder about making art an excuse for degrading women but I did enjoy the exhibition nonetheless.

Thanks to BlackTulip's recommendation, later on, I took a walk up Brick Lane which was a complete contrast but equally good... Lots of diverse characters, quite a buzz and cool street art.

After spotting a man pointing at his shoes on Millennium Bridge, I was excited to realise he'd spotted some chewing gum art. I reckon I spent the longest time on that bridge today inspecting gum whilst everyone else was watching the sunset.  While I was admiring one piece, a couple of blokes spotted a really neat one and we had a pleasant exchange about the artist who it turns out he's videoed as part of his job. As well as doing general gum art, the guys pointed out he also creates dedications for passers by - including in Japanese!

Last night, I went to see The Commitments which was an entertaining musical. Tonight's was, for me, in a class of its own... The hard hitting true story of The Scottsboro Boys. It used a very effective level of humour to balance the story and boy, could those lads sing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.