Fish

After cycling down this morning (no, ok, not really), I arrived in London noting that I felt like a fish out of Yorkshire.

And then I spotted fish on every lamppost. So I started to feel at home with my familiar strange coincidences.

After checking in, I walked along the river from Embankment to Tower Bridge and the Tower of London. There were too many people for me to tune into the significance of the poppies but I've found my own moments for that.

As I was approaching the bridge, I spotted the Horniman pub where I did market research at uni over 20 years ago (difficult to say as a 19 year old!) I pondered on how many different paths I've taken, and enjoyed, and moved on from, since then. Working for the odd day here and there in London is truly in the dim and distant past.

When the light started to fade and the lights began to twinkle, I started to absorb the atmosphere and feel less like a fish. As I was taking a few photos of Tower Bridge, photographer Paul said hello and we had a little chat. Paul was kind enough to offer some tips about puddle reflections and optimum light times. Of course I mentioned Blip, so he may well join us. I even asked him to pose which he kindly did, but sadly my photography was rubbish.

I went for dinner in China Town, hoping to get a cheap theatre ticket for tomorrow night. As I was eating and texting Rich, I realised I could fit in two theatre nights. Indulgence!

Birthday money gone.

After enjoying the show and as I walked back to my hotel, someone talking to themselves made me turn to one side. While I waited to cross the road, I watched a fellow packing up his belongings into a bag and trolley.

And that reality and stark contrast upset me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.