Life Savors

By osuzanna

Bull Run Battlefield

Today, I attended a seminar at the Nature Visions 2014 Photo Expo in Manassas, Virginia. It was a very instructional and inspirational all-day program given by Rick Sammon, and I learned all kinds of new things. My biggest challenge will be to remember them. I am going back tomorrow for some additional educational sessions.

Most Americans will know Manassas as the site of 2 very famous Civil War battles also known as the 1st and 2nd Battles of Bull Run, both of which were won by the Confederate Army.

Realizing that I was blipless at the end of the day and that the sun would be setting soon, I drove over to the battlefield before heading home. I ran up to the top of Buck’s Hill to snap a few photos, hoping that one of them would be suitable for a blip. This looks out over part of the battlefield, where the first battle began.

When I returned home after a grueling 1 1/2 hours in traffic, I poured myself a glass of wine, uploaded my photos and chose this one which was taken with the setting sun behind me. One of the things I learned today is that caffeine and alcohol can affect one’s color perception, so I decided that monochrome might be the safest thing to do. The countryside is starting to look pretty monochrome anyway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.