The Meyer Lemon….

More than a pretty face! I don't know when I fell in love with the smell and taste of a Meyer Lemon, but I am really hooked on them. When our poor lemon tree succumbed to Citrus Green disease, we were sad to see it go. But we were happy to then purchase another lemon tree, only this time it was going to be a Meyer Lemon Tree. This fruit is a cross between a lemon and a mandarin orange. It has smooth golden skin the color of a fresh egg yolk. It also has a thin edible rind, and is very juicy, but does not have any of tartness of a regular lemon. They are a very popular fruit now because it gives a very aromatic, slightly sweet quality that brightens desserts, sauces, salads, chicken and roasts. The lemon got its name after an agricultural explorer named Frank Meyer who introduced the lemon in the 1900's to the USA from Asia.

After a full day of running errands and completing some projects, I was a little feeling a tired and wanted a quick pick me up. A cold glass of water and some lemon juice was perfect. Have to run, I am busy searching ways to use this delicious fruit in some recipes!









Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.