stujphoto

By stujphoto

Beachscape Infra Red

I took my newly IR modified SLR to the beach today just to see how it would handle typical beach scenery. The seascapes were, as I expected, pretty underwhelming as the IR process records the sea in a similar fashion to the sky which is no surprise given that most of the colour of the sea derives from a reflection of the sky. The waves were quite sparkly hut otherwise it was pretty dull.

However, the marram grass in the dunes was much more interesting and could be the basis of some interesting images if you have a nice deep blue sky with some puffy clouds. The sky was more muted today so I had to work hard in post-processing to add a touch of drama. What was also quite good was the way the IR picked out the paths through the marram grass though in the image I have chosen to blip this I not immediately apparent as I am shooting from well to the side of the path,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.