A meeting of opinions during the big event today

The public event I have been working towards with my colleagues for so long, went very well today. We didn't know how many people would attend this extended drop-in session, but I think we probably had nearly three hundred people. Even when we had to close there were people wanting to ask more questions and have a say about Stroud's future.

I had processed a large range of pictures of the town to visualise many of the themes that were being addressed and many of them were placed around the walls of the Subscription Rooms' ballroom which was our venue for the day. Other small prints were stuck on display boards of the seven key issue group displays as well. I was pleased to get good feedback about the pictures and many comments on how useful it was to have photos to illustrate the areas that were marked out on the many maps that are necessary parts of the whole planning process.

I also took pictures of the day as it unfolded, because it is important that we create a record as the evidence base showing how local people are involved in creating the Neighbourhood Development Plan, which is required as part of the formal process of its delivery within the Localism Agenda. It was also useful to be photographing inside this building as I will be returning there next Saturday to be an official photographer at a big music gig, which is slightly daunting.

I was really pleased that Helena was able to be there as well, as she had volunteered to run a 'Kids corner' in the same room, so that parents could have time to get involved in the process knowing their kids would be safe, close by and having fun. I did get permission to take some pictures of a few of the children, but I've decided not to blip them. Instead this is a picture of two of my colleagues on the Steering Group, Kevin, an ex-army brigadier, who is a fellow town councillor, and Hugh, who is emeritus Professor of Planning, Health and Sustainability, and former Director of the WHO Collaborating Centre for Healthy, and also a fellow trustee with me of the Preservation Trust.

I took this opportunity whilst watching them talking to Andrew, a local property surveyor, who is an agent for a big mixed use development proposal in the centre of town which is arousing a lot of local feeling. He was there to answer questions about their possible proposals. I particularly liked the way the light was falling in the picture, and I couldn't resist recording the scene as well, with two local residents joining in. There were also three of my pictures on a table in front of them which they were all pointing at odd times in their discussions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.