The kitchen tiles at Liz and John's house

I popped in to visit Liz and John on my way home from Gloucester this afternoon.  The sky was gloomy but the rain held off.  When I arrived I found John with Joe, their eldest son, who was visiting for a short holiday, finishing the clear up of a chain saw event.  Apparently the winds had brought down several large limbs of a willow tree at the front of their house hanging over the fields on the upper slope of the Painswick valley.

The tree had been occupied by a tree house they had built many years ago when the kids were small, which had also come down.  Now the wood was being sawn up and prepared for for drying and its role next winter as fuel for a wood burning stove.

My arrival signalled a break for tea and John and chat, and then John had a look at my new camera and gave me some valuable instruction in the physics of photography in which he is an expert.  While sitting in the kitchen  I took a few pictures to try out some of the functions in the camera and this picture was one of them.  I like it as it shows the pretty hand painted tiles set amongst the plain ones which John and I put up on the wall some years ago.  The tiles were Liz's choice and were very fine, if rather variable in their size shape and thickness, which did give us some problems when tiling them.  The wooden cupboards were hand made by John, which used another of his many skills.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.