Teasel

By Teasel

Cove Harbour

A very lazy Sunday morning, I lay in bed reading my book for a while. I wanted to go for a run, but after feeling a bit grim over the past couple of days I thought bed was the best place to be.

After lunch we headed down the coast to Cove Harbour. The harbour is accessed from the cliff path, via a tunnel cut through the cliffs. It always reminds me of a Famous Five Story I read as a child. Today the tide was out, but was coming in, with great force. We watched surfers in the bay from the cliff path as we walked down to the harbour. There were some big and powerful waves. It is a lovely place to visit and so picturesque, but I am not sure I would like to be there in really stormy weather. Even in the shelter of the harbour the two boats were seriously bobbing around this afternoon and with all the rocks revealed at low tide, it doesn't look very boat friendly!

Late in the afternoon the sun was shining on Torness (nuclear)power station which is up the coast, and there was a vivid golden rectangular glow in the distance lighting up the sky. It was quite spectacular – like something out of Dr Who.

Here are two fisherman’s cottages that sit overlooking the harbour. A man came out of the cottage on the right and came down the steps cut into the rock of the harbour wall. He only just made it round to the beach with dry feet! You can see the detail better large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.