The Party's Over…and Just Starting.

Although we still have had very little rain, the nights are cold, and the early mornings are crisp and utterly still. With the drawing in of the days, hopes are renewed that there will be rain this winter. Dire predictions are being made about mandatory statewide water rationing if the drought extends into another year. We have a well, and therefore no meter, so technically, I suppose, we are exempt from the mandate, but we are doing what we can.

The lake was still this morning, reflecting a clear blue sky, and the hills and trees around it. The strong linear forms of the pier and its reflection, and the water bottles which someone left on the end of it attracted my attention. I liked the geometry of the pier contrasted with the natural landscape, and the bottles, which I originally mistook for wine glasses, made me wonder what was going on out there yesterday…

They turned out to be water bottles and were probably left there by people fishing.

Today marks the second anniversary of our move to Wildwood Trail. When I left our house on Magnolia Street in Berkeley, my mantra, "life is changed, not taken away…" was running through my head. After two years here, life has changed a great deal, but definitely has not diminished. We are beginning to feel like this is definitely home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.