carliewired

By carliewired

Good-bye Helen

Feisty and fun, this
octogenarian must
return to her home

~ carliewired

I've had my first session of the season with my Glorious Quilters group in the Foothills Lutheran church. I'm very sad to see that Helen will not be continuing. Her husband recently passed away very unexpectedly. It was a second marriage for them both. The Arizona house was left in trust to her husband's children. Although she has use of it as long as she so chooses, she does not drive, so she would be rather stranded here. He was an American, but she is a Scot. Helen comes from a family of 10 so she has many family members still in Scotland. She will return there on Saturday. I will miss her company each Monday morning. She and I have had many chats and I do enjoy her company. She will miss the sunny weather and the company of so many quilters she has befriended in the seven years she been volunteering at the church.

The church has recently renovated the fellowship room we use for our quilt production. It is now twice the size it was last year. We are spoiled for space now.
It was great to see everyone again and get myself back in gear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.