Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Blip-itics-Have I Changed Much Since May 2012?

PLEASE go back and read the blip I wrote on 23 May 2012. I think you'll notice that I was actually engaged in life almost every hour of every day. I felt I had little to share with the blip community outside of what I talked about in that blip.

With, of course, the exceptions of the few things at the end {This will be a test to see if you read it. :-)}.

In December of that year, my social media site, Multiply, folded up it's doors, and it's members - over which time I had developed many long-term friendships - scattered to various other sites. I floundered for months trying to find a replacement as a social outlet, as well as a political one, but not finding anywhere to challenge my intellect (not that I have much).

Then two days ago I looked back in my journal to see exactly when I stopped venturing out to take photos of landscapes and other things outside of my close environment.

It was in March of 2013 - around the time of my cataract surgeries, when my sight started to be a problem, followed almost immediately by my first cervical spine surgery. It was during those recoveries that my blip habits and energy died.

My sight has never fully recovered nor will my neck ever be cured. The question going forward is what will I do with this "epiphany."

I can continue sitting on the pillows in my recliner staring out the door or into space doing nothing for hours every day or I can go out for walks, or even better, get in the car and drive down south to explore new places to photograph while still shooting my wonderful Zippy and friends here and there...but just not every day.

I have become a one note and boring blipper - to me and to others. I am approaching my fourth year of consecutive blipping. I really want to keep going because I love this site and even more I love the people here. I got an email from Joe this morning. HUGE changes are coming to Blipfoto in December. I want to be here for the roll out as I celebrate my milestone.

I am a horrendous commenter, especially to the wonderfully loyal people who visit me come hell or high water. I vow totry harder.

But the pivotal question remains...do I still hang too much of my write ups on the the only two things I said I could write about on May 23, 2012?

Along with the photographs, have I truly become a one-note blipper? Is that why I have driven people away?...my droning on in replies?... and of the constant drumbeat of the only two things I ever thought I had to share with anyone here?

With Blipfoto making huge changes to it's site, how much have I changed from that day in 2012 and where is that person today? Is she still alive?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.