Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Cake

Today I went to Saffron Walden with my daughter to have my nails done; they have at last recovered from the dreadful treatment they endured from one of the other nail shops in town.

As usual we went to The Courtyard for breakfast. They have very recently been taken over and the standard, in our opinion, was not as good as before. They did not have any gluten-free bread and the gluten-free cake was not being delivered until later. My daughter had a full English breakfast, the menu said two sausages and there was only one on the plate. I had some of the items from the full English breakfast, but obviously without those items, which contain gluten. I did not have eggs, but found a piece of eggshell in my mouth! I was also charged for a full English; there did not appear to be any other way to charge me. We will go again next time, but if the standard has not improved, then we shall go elsewhere.

This afternoon I have weighed and measured all the ingredients to make two Christmas cakes, in my opinion, this is the tedious part. Tomorrow I shall just have to mix everything together and bake them. I am using a different recipe this year, so hopefully they will turn out okay. Today's picture does not show everything, there are several more bowls in other parts of the kitchen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.