Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

More Cake

This morning I mixed together the ingredients for two Christmas cakes. I have used Phil Vickery’s recipe, ‘Rich Fruit Christmas Cake’ from one of his gluten- free baking books this year, instead of using Delia’s recipe. The recipe was easy to follow and I shall use it again. The link takes you to the same recipe online. I have used Juvela flour instead of his special mix. I also left out the mixed peel and the almonds including more cherries instead.

Then I watched the qualifying from Abu Dhabi, the last one of the season.

Today’s picture shows the two cakes just after they have come out of the oven and before they were removed from their tins. These are new baking tins, which I purchased recently from Lakeland in Cambridge, they are ‘PushPan’ loose bottomed ones; they have a silicone seal in the base so that nothing leaks out. The instructions say they do not need lining, I was sceptical about this, but they have turned out just fine. One is slightly browner than the other as they were both cooked at the same time. Next time I make them I will change them round half way through the cooking time.

We will eat one and save the other one for Christmas. Some small crumbs fell off the round one when I took it out of its tin, the GOG declared that it was very moist; just as I like it.We do not marzipan or ice our cake, preferring it just as it is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.