The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The red bench

The red bench at Daisybank play area stands where there was once a marvellous tilting, tipping roundabout, black like a giant LP. It could take you on a magical journey upwards and down, round and round, and side to side at the same time.Kids loved it, and adults were quite enthusiastic, though they felt sicker quicker.

It was installed in 2005 at high cost, and in less than five years, had been set fire to by vandals. Patrons ran up from the pub (bottom right of pic) with hand help fire extinguishers, as the fire brigade had nowhere to park because of all the weekend parking in the narrow lanes. That was that, then: it was taken away and the local timber merchant donated some sand and matting to fill the gaping void it left behind.
I'm glad it was still there in the summer of 2007, when two of my nephews lived with us. Pleased, too, about the drinkers downing their pints and rushing out to save it.

Vandalism of this unusual playground in a rural setting is an ongoing theme. The first call CleanSteve ever received in his capacity as town councillor was from the local press, asking him to comment on another incident, in which vital nuts and bolts had been removed from some of the equipment, rendering it unsafe for children. A supporters/friends group has now been set up to monitor the space and make requests to the council, and the pub, which is a sponsor of sorts. I only wish I could find out who the vandals are, and, er.....

I'm still not feeling great, so went back to bed after doing a short stint at work today. Tried ringing the doctor's, but the phone just rang and rang. What with putting Vicks on my chest and feet, cocoa butter on my arms and legs (because I've got terribly itchy 'winter skin') and virgin coconut oil on my face because I've accidentally discovered it's the best, and cheapest, facial moisturiser, I feel that I'm basting up myself as a sacrificial offering to the gods of winter. Bring on the fire, and the spit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.